It’s Not Goodbye.

I’ve been neglecting path: ethic. More to the point, I’ve been avoiding it.

It’s not that I have nothing to say. I always have things to say!

But it’s just finding the time to sit down and write it, and write it well. And I’m definitely a proponent of finding the time to write. So when I say, ‘I don’t have the time to write for path: ethic,’ what I’m really saying is that I don’t want to make the time to write it.

That sounds quite rude, especially to those of you who read, so let me explain myself further.

When I began path: ethic a few years ago, I wanted a few things: to connect with other people on a public forum; to write and discuss my thoughts on various topics, which I didn’t have much opportunity to discuss in person; and to build up a portfolio of sorts, to be able to make money from my writing.

And all of those things happened! I was Freshly Pressed, I had lots of people follow the blog and write comments, and I met some very interesting folk with whom I’d probably never have crossed paths, had it not been for this place. It also improved my writing and improved my speed. I got quicker at posting; I searched out more places to read and engage with people. And I gained the confidence to start freelancing, earning money from my writing and also with my editing.

I didn’t mean to give up on path: ethic when all those things happened, though, so I kept going with it. I enjoyed it, and I was willing to make time for it.

It’s just that in the past months, I have been making more time for other things. And as much as I hate to admit it, it’s getting harder to commit time to something which doesn’t bring in any income, when I can spend that time doing paid writing or editing. Not that money is the most important thing in the world, and if I had more spare time, I could devote that to writing path: ethic. After all, the discipline of writing something every week is really good, especially because it forces you above everything to argue for an idea you might not have previously considered, or search out something new which you would otherwise never have read. However, time… there is only so much of it. And compared to when I began path: ethic, I have more to fill it.

My Offspring are older and don’t nap as often. So they’re awake more, and apparently they want to spend that waking time with me (this probably won’t last, so I should enjoy it while it does).

I’m working, both freelancing and in my own business.

I’m writing.

I’m doing a PhD.

…and sometimes, I have something resembling a social life?

There are still all the other elements in my life–the pets, the housework and the seemingly never-ending renovations–which pull at me from different directions, and all of which I love, and which require my attention. While I give that attention willingly, I also need to take time for myself. I need to sleep. I need to eat well and get outside in the fresh air and not look at a computer screen.

What this means is that out of all the many ‘things’ in my satisfyingly full and busy life, path: ethic is the one thing which I can give up, which won’t affect our income, or my relationships with my family, or my business, or my study. Which made it a logical decision, as far as decisions go, but also a difficult one. Because path: ethic, and all of those who’ve stopped by to read, comment, and follow, has been an important part of my life for the past few years, and I’m sad to say goodbye to it.

So this isn’t goodbye. This is just me saying that I intend to write here, now and then, when I have something I want to say and I have the time to say it well. It will be less often, and less regularly, but it will still happen. I look forward to talking and listening to you all, when it does.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “It’s Not Goodbye.

  1. I’m so glad you’re reclaiming some of your time! Things change, and that’s okay. I look forward to the posts you do get to make in the coming months. I’m especially excited to hear about the writing Thai comes off your Ph.D.🙂

  2. I’ve enjoyed reading path:ethic over the past couple of years. You’re writing has sometimes inspired me to put fingers to keyboard too. Best of luck with everything. Enjoy your PhD and your other writing!! Martina

  3. Thanks Rebecca for your postings and frankness. Situations and priorities shift, a fact of life. Best of wishes to your pursuits. Look forward to read your posts when it happens.

Leave a Reply

