The Week Links: in which our blogger eats fruit mince pies.

It’s almost Christmas! This is exciting because fruit mince pies are on special, and I’m making it my mission to sample as many as I can, so that I can recommend the very best. So far, the ones I had at the Vancouver Street Cafe come out on top, closely followed by those from Baker’s Delight. I shall see if I can find some at Dome next week. I know this information’s really only useful to about three people who read this blog, but I think that just highlights my incredible attention to detail, don’t you?

The links have been few and far between for the past few weeks, but now they’re back! Please enjoy:

A lovely story about a couple who began a school for students who were bullied at their mainstream school. This highlights also perhaps the way in which we go about preventing bullying. Given that our Offspring just received their final school reports for the year, this holistic approach which Northleigh House seems to take appeals to me. I like that the emphasis is on the students’ mental health first and that the content comes second.

* * * * *

Some really interesting data here from the Economist about how mass shootings affect gun sales, and the ways in which any debate always seems to result in nothing but the best interests of gun manufacturers. I’m far too cynical to be surprised by this, but the size of the problem is bigger than I had imagined.

* * * * *

I’m not really a believer in karma, but I do take some comfort in the vague universal justice which seems to happen now and then. You might recall that head of Turing Pharmaceuticals, Martin Shkreli, caused some controversy earlier in the year by increasing to hundreds of dollars the cost of an anti-viral medication used in the treatment of HIV/AIDS. Well, he’s just been arrested for securities fraud. I’m not saying that I’m glad. I’m just saying… it couldn’t have happened to a nicer person.

* * * * *

Ending on a more celebratory and much less malicious note, I was really touched by this story about an elderly musician seeking others with whom to play. Now living in a care home because his dementia meant he couldn’t stay at home anymore, Edward Hardy and one of the care home workers put an ad on Gumtree to see if there were anyone willing to come and jam with him. Eighty musicians responded, including some of his old band mates. That’s so great, isn’t it?

One thought on “The Week Links: in which our blogger eats fruit mince pies.

Leave a Reply

