The Week Links: in which our blogger hopes you’ve not noticed she’s missed the past two weeks…

I’m sorry about that. Somehow I got insanely busy with children, work, cats, and winter colds. Oh, and lighting fires (in the fireplace, in case you’re wondering), and trying to get the washing dry. But here I am, back again, with your regular Sunday links, so now you can relax! I’ve relaxed for long enough this morning; I’m about to wash the sheets and bake some chocolate chip biscuits.

Enjoy your Sunday!

I’m glad that this has come out. I’m not glad that our government/s have been paying people smugglers to take asylum seekers back, but I’m glad that it is out in the open, just how little our representatives seem to care about their global responsibility. There are some murmurings that our Prime Minister will call an early election, but my biggest concern about that is that the Opposition doesn’t seem to be taking a very strong stance on helping asylum seekers, either. I don’t want to believe that the majority of Australian people really feel as if this is something they’re willing to happen in their names. I would have hoped that we would have more compassion. Perhaps it’s more the will of the noisy minority? Or maybe I’m naïve in thinking that.

* * * * *

Given this news, I wonder if we can then really use the reason that our Asian neighbours might see equal marriage as ‘decadent’ as an excuse not to allow it. I’m fairly certain they would – and do – look harshly on our reluctance to take on potential refugees from this region, and they could probably care less about marriage. The decadence Joyce mentions has been a reason for extremist attacks on Australian interests; our general lifestyle, down to what we eat and drink and how we dress is decadent according to such viewpoints. I doubt Joyce would argue that we should all suddenly be following a different diet and dress code in order to please our nearest neighbours.

* * * * *

This was an interesting piece about doing creative work while caring for children. I always feel like I’m a little entitled when I complain about how hard it is to write and care for children, but there is a good point raised in this post about the fact that creative work often takes immense energy and focus. Not that other work doesn’t, but given the number of jobs I’ve had, I can certainly say that trying to write requires a certain concentration that working in retail or hospitality didn’t. Even teaching was different – perhaps more prescriptive, and therefore less immersive. And doing this creative work while the children are in the same space can be difficult, too, because I both struggle with the guilt of leaving my children to play on their own (gasp! the poor darlings!) and wanting the space and quiet to do my work. My own personal response to this is to bring my work out and write or edit while they play nearby. They can see me and have the occasional conversation; I can work without feeling the guilt. Well, that’s how it works in theory, anyway! In practice, I often end up with someone sitting on my knee while they fight over my attention. I guess they’re only this little for a short time…

* * * * *

Childhood memories fascinate me: not simply wondering about my own, but also watching how the memories of my own Offspring change. I am very interested in how much they can remember back, and what sticks in their minds – how our perceptions as individuals and as parents or children affect what we remember. I found this article a pleasant balance of psychological discussion, childhood nostalgia and deconstruction of family relationships, and how they pertain to the memories we keep and the way we develop as children and adults.

Leave a Reply

