The Week Links: in which our blogger has new kittens!

It has been an adjustment, having younger cats around. The last time we had a kitten was nine years ago. Now we have a pair of six-month-old boys, and they are full of rough-and-tumble kitteny play. Our Offspring are utterly delighted with the kittens. The kittens are less delighted about our Offspring — although the tabby does seem to quite like their company. There has been a lot of giggling and squealing, interspersed with, ‘Ow! He just scratched me!’ Haha. Kittens do have a tendency to get a little carried away.

So in the brief window when the kittens are sleeping and our Offspring are outside playing, I’d better put these links up, and think about getting lunch ready! Have an interesting Sunday, everyone.

I didn’t hear about the controversy with regards to the poem until it was over, so I read this article with interest, and then I went to read the poem, which I really enjoyed. I’m not a 70 year old man, but I could still identify with many of the sentiments he expressed in the poem, and I think that’s a credit to Raine’s prowess. If anyone should be able to express our difficulties with coming to terms with aging, our own fragilities as humans, and our desires and the need to connect with other individuals, surely it’s poets?

* * * * *

I read this with interest because I don’t really think of 24 hours without email or internet is so much of a hardship, although I know from talking to friends that many would find it difficult. I’m not saying that I don’t regularly check email throughout the day, but I suppose while reading the article, it appears that for many people, switching off is almost impossible. How have we become so addicted to something that was supposed to be a tool to help us? I suppose that’s the story of our lives… I also read with wry amusement the tag at the bottom of the article that readers can contact the BBC with their own stories of switching off — via Twitter or Facebook. Heh.

* * * * *

Here’s an argument for why we still need women-only writing prizes. I’m always a little torn about the idea of affirmative action, because I’m not convinced it always works, or at least, not in the way that we would always like it to. I don’t know how successful it is in changing attitudes, even as it may help with opportunities for groups in society which are otherwise marginalised. So I’m on the fence: as a person who would be eligible (once I’ve published my book!) to enter such a prize, I’m glad it’s available, but I can also empathise with men who are emerging writers and don’t have such opportunities.

* * * * *

Remember a while ago, I wrote with delight about the fact that there was a pause in global warming? Apparently that’s not true. Boo. But on the up-side, it means hopefully that there is even more evidence against climate sceptics and we might be able to get more achieved when global leaders meet in Paris in December. Given that Australia has been singled out as one of the world’s worst offenders with regards to a lack of climate action, I’m interested and hopeful at what might be achievable in a few months’ time.

2 thoughts on “The Week Links: in which our blogger has new kittens!

  1. Pingback: The Week Links: in which our blogger has new kittens! | ugiridharaprasad

Leave a Reply

