The Customary Campaign.

For most of you who live in the northern hemisphere, summer comes and goes too quickly and the long winter is formidable and exhausting. By the time spring rolls around, you’re well and truly ready for the green. Here, as we slip into autumn, it’s also a relief from the harsh summer, where everything takes a break, welcomes the rain, and settles in to replenish itself with the cooler weather.

To this end, I spent some time yesterday, pulling up some of the less successful pumpkin plants, and inviting the chickens into the garden (it’s usually Out Of Bounds) to eat slaters and loosen the soil. Today I’ll sow some winter vegetable seeds. New seasons bring such anticipation.

First, though, I have to honour my promise to make playdough, so I’ll leave you the links and be on my way!

I have always enjoyed the company of older people, so this story really warmed my heart. I don’t think it would be the ideal situation for everyone, but in western society, where we seem to be so keen to separate people according to age. I understand that sentiment – of course people like to be around others with whom they have something in common. But sharing experiences across the boundaries of age can be beneficial for all. I think this could really take off here, too.

* * * * *

Obviously there are particular elements, unique to Costa Rica, which have allowed for this to happen, but it’s still impressive that the country has not used any fossil fuel at all this year. We may not all have the resources they have, but many countries have others they could use. It shows initiative and planning, and is a beacon which the rest of us could do with following.

* * * * *

And another energy issue: the headline here (as is often the case) doesn’t tell the full story. I’m appalled to think that a company with the capacity to buy water from elsewhere would sue a small town for wanting to keep its water for its citizens. Yet on the other hand, I’m concerned that the town has entered into a dangerous contract with a company which priorities do not lie in ensuring a clean environment for the town-dwellers. I’ve seen some evidence to suggest that, carried out efficiently and with all precautions in place, fracking shouldn’t be environmentally damaging. But the reality is so very different, and we’ve seen proof of that. We’re bargaining away our water. This surely needs to end, and we need to ensure that our laws can protect us and our essential resources rather than the interests of companies looking only to profit from them.

* * * * *

One year, in a federal election, the Handsome Sidekick and I went down to the local primary school to vote. We’d moved and not changed our address, and there was some issue whereby we’d been removed from the roll, so we had to go through a whole lengthy (about 15 minutes) process of some kind of special vote… I can’t recall the details. All I know is that voting in Australia is compulsory, which means a high voter turnout, but up until that point, it had been a bit of a pain in the neck – you get fined if you don’t vote, so I always did. Then when I was told I wasn’t on the list and couldn’t vote, I was up in arms! How dare they take my right to vote away?! It’s so easy for us to vote here, we forget the lengths other people must and will go to in other countries, in an attempt to stabilise their governments. Please keep in your thoughts and hearts the people of Nigeria as they face violence and even death (I’m not exaggerating here) in order to vote this weekend.

Leave a Reply

