The Frequent Frolic.

I made hot cross buns for the first time this week and it was AWESOME. I can highly recommend making them yourself, especially if your household is anything like mine in which a half-dozen buns disappear in one sitting. And it’s wonderfully appropriate weather for hot cross buns, too — cool and rainy.

I’m off to a birthday party with Third and Fourth Offspring this morning, so while I’m eating cake, please enjoy the links!

In the wake of the devastation of Cyclone Pam in Vanuatu, Greens senator Christine Milne claimed that the intense nature of the storm was due to climate change. This article looks at the validity of the argument — can we really say for certain that there’s a causal link? It turns out it’s not as simple as all that, but never fear, whatever the cause, cyclones are likely to be more destructive in the future anyway, and it appears that humans have a great deal to do with it. What a lark! (Sigh).

* * * * *

Former Prime Minister, Malcolm Fraser, died this week. A conservative politician who was Prime Minister from the mid-seventies to the early eighties, he has been remembered as a thoroughly decent and considerate person. You can read a little more about him here. As you can imagine, our media was full of obituaries and praise for the great statesman, and I’m certainly on board with that. But on the same day that he died, the government released a report into the treatment of asylum seekers (in particular, children) in offshore detention centres. Would it be too cynical for me to assume that they released the report on the very same day as news of the death of such a public figure?

* * * * *

It’s World Water Day! On a regular basis, I think about how lucky I am, to live somewhere with potable, affordable tap water. Apart from tea, it’s my favourite drink. Spare a thought today for the millions who do not have a reliable or safe water supply. In a drying climate, it’s really something we shouldn’t be taking for granted.

* * * * *

Finally, the best thing you’ll read this week, or most likely, this year. What the hey, it’s possible that you will never read anything this good for the rest of your life. This article by a talented Australian woman about race and identity in her country is seriously an outstanding piece of writing, which… OK, full disclosure, I wrote this, and thought you might want to take a look. (I may or may not have talked it up, just a tad).

2 thoughts on “The Frequent Frolic.

  1. LOL Bec, Its Cecelia here by the way (Noir au Blanc) and no i think we live in a really jaded world that we can look upon situations and wonder did you really do that out of the goodness of your heart or a political decision – when its politics the numbers game or the spin doctor is always in good force.

    I am going to have an attempt at this easter hot x bun scroll bun type thing this year.. i hope it works out!

    • Hey there, I thought I recognised you from the picture on your blog, and I wondered if it was you! It’s really lovely to connect with you here.

      I really don’t want to be jaded; I want to believe the best of people, but so often it turns out that people are swayed by power and money and make some really dodgy choices. It’s a pity.

      I used a Women’s Weekly recipe but my breadmaker has one in its recipe book so perhaps I will try that one too. Good luck with yours! I’ll be interested to see how they turn out.

Leave a Reply

