More Than You’ll Ever Know.

This is not my regular kind of post. I am currently writing something about politics, but I thought this needed to be said, first.

I checked my stats today. I’ve been checking them a lot this weekend (well, more than usual!) because I’ve been waiting for a milestone, and this afternoon, I hit it.

path: ethic now has 1000 followers.

1000!

You guys have no idea what this means to me. I just went through and found that people from 79 countries around the world have visited this blog. How amazing is THAT? People from Jamaica to Portugal to Sweden to Nepal, from Brazil to Poland to France to Ecuador, from Singapore to the USA to the UK, have all dropped by to see what I was writing.

That seriously blows my mind. That 1000 of those visitors thought it was worthwhile clicking ‘follow’.

When I started this blog, I wanted a place where I could do some more structured writing, where I could work through some opinions and hopefully engage others in thinking about current affairs or philosophical issues. My day-to-day life is very much needs-only; I’m a parent of four young children, the oldest of whom is six-and-a-half, and they… need a lot. They need me to feed them (several times a day, apparently), clothe them, bathe them, and most of all, listen to them. In turn, they listen to me, as I tell them about exoskeletons (we found one from a stick insect today; very cool) and rainbows, and why we don’t stand on the backs of chairs to reach the Weetbix on the top shelf. But right now, they’re not really up to discussions of the depth I crave. And while the Handsome Sidekick is wonderfully patient, sometimes one needs a wider audience.

That’s where you guys come in. This blog has helped me to keep my sanity. It can sometimes seem like a drag to try and get one post out every week–and sometimes, I don’t even manage that–but it keeps me going.

And so do you. Thank you, each one of you, for visiting, following, liking, commenting. It means such a great deal to me.

I know, I know. I’m overly sentimental when you let me loose. So I’ll just end by letting you know that over the next ten days or so, I’m going to be possibly a little more remiss than usual at responding to comments, since the Handsome Sidekick and I are moving to another city, along with the children and our dog, chicken, and three cats. I’ll be without internet for at least a weekend (please keep me in your thoughts as I struggle with that!) and then busy with settling First and Second Offspring into new school and kindergarten, and Third and Fourth into daycare. Oh, and unpacking. (Ugh)

But I’ll be back! And I very much look forward to continuing the journey with you all.

Best,
Bec.

14 thoughts on “More Than You’ll Ever Know.

    • Thank you! I think sometimes I am actually more productive now despite life being so hectic, than I was when life was easier😉 And then there are days when not much gets done at all, but I think we all have those, right?!

  1. 1,000 . . . Hmm . . . .
    (If only I can get there . . . At times I think I’ll never . . .)
    Congratulations, even tho we just meet [Embarrassed <.<]

  2. I’ve been browsing online more than three hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It’s pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all website owners and bloggers made good content as you
    did, the internet will be a lot more useful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

